Thoughts on GORP!


I made my own GORP for the first time in ages yesterday, and now that it’s properly all mixed up I feel I should offer my advice on how to make a good one.

For those of you not ‘in the know’, GORP is Good Ol’ Raisins and Peanuts, and often incorporates a whole plethora of other additives. It’s a critical camp staple if you’re going out for an extended time as it is lightweight, doesn’t spoil easily, and it’s full of essential nutrition.

I made my latest little batch out of salted peanuts, assorted dried fruit, and raisins. The dried fruit is great, as it gives tremendous flavor and some good vitamins without weighing you down. The raisins were also good, and require little in the way of justification. I would, however, advise against using any salted nut. It’s very overpowering and wouldn’t be any good out on the trail. I’d also suggest some more exotic nuts if you can spare the dime. Ones like almonds and cashews are really good sources of calories and energy which are vital to any paddler. Finally, I’d add chocolate like M&Ms to the mix. Not only does it maintain it’s consistancy in summer heat, but it tastes great and really brightens up the day.

Long story short, GORP is an effective way to boost your energy through the day, whether in an office or out on the trail. It’s tasty, tailored to your needs, and cheap. All in all, I approve.

Leave a Reply

