Camping again, with a twist!


I’m heading out to the bush this weekend, for a change.  But this time it’s going to be a little bit different, because I am going…alone.  That’s right, I’m flying solo.  Figured I’d give some insight into what’s going in my mind before embarking on this intensely personal trip.

I used to have another paddler with me…I’m sure they’ll be fine.

First and foremost is safety I suppose.  What if I break an ankle, or get food poisoning, or spring a hole in my canoe?  Well, I’ll tell you what, I’ve got quite a good first aid kit, a good background in how to properly treat most of the wounds I could incur, and I’m 90% sure I’m going to go somewhere where I get some cell service should something really bad happen.

I’m actually more nervous about getting my canoe on and off my car by myself.  I’ve been able to get the damn thing on without too much trouble, but I’ve always had help getting it off.  I’m hoping someone will be at the take out/put in when I’m there to help me out, because I’ll ruin my weekend if I ding my car (loves my car, I loves it!).

It’ll be an interesting time I think.  It’s a shame I won’t be able to go out for a longer trip, but with the economy being the way it is, you gotta make money sometimes right?  Maybe next year I’ll go for a longer trip, but for now I’ve got enough camping on my plate to be satisfied for at least a little while.  Winter camping is expensive anyways, so I’ve got to build up my coffers…

Leave a Reply

